Faculty Profile

Zhifeng RenZhifeng Ren

M. D. Anderson Chair Professor
Department of Physics

Office: Houston Science Center, 466 [Texas Center for Super Conductivity at UH (TcSUH)]
Contact: zren@uh.edu - (713) 743-8227

Education: Ph.D., Chinese Academy of Sciences, 1990

Google Scholar Profile

High performance thermoelectric materials and devices: nanostructure approach to reduce thermal conductivity and to improve thermoelectric properties, waste heat conversion into electricity; Solar energy conversion: nano approaches for photovoltaic energy conversion; Flexible transparent electrodes: Fabrication and understanding of flexible transparent electrodes; Surfactant for enhanced oil recovery: Synthesis and characterizations of high performance surfactant; Thermal management: efficient cooling materials, thermal storage, high thermal conductivity; Mechanics of carbon nanotubes and other nanowires, and nanocomposites: the deformation and mechanical properties of carbon nanotubes and other nanowires by high resolution transmission electron microscope; Bio agent delivery and bio sensors: carbon nanotubes spearing for molecular delivery into cells with high viability, nano cavities for sensitive bio sensing; Superconductivity: synthesis and characterizations of new superconductors.

Honors and Awards:

Fellow, American Physical Society, 2004
Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2005
Outstanding Overseas Chinese Young Investigator, Nanjing University, China, 2005
Distinguished Senior Research Award, Boston College, 2006
R&D 100 Award for the Development of High Performance Thermoelectric Materials, 2008
Changjiang Visiting Professorship, Nanjing University, China, 2009
Guangdong Province Inaugural Leadership Award, 2010
Thousand Talent Program Awardee, China, 2010
Ranked as the 49th of the World’s Top 100 Materials Scientists of the Decade (2000-2010), 2011
Fellow, National Academy of Inventors, 2013
Recipient, Edith and Peter O’Donnell Award in Science from The Academy of Medicine, Engineering & Science of Texas (TAMEST), 2014

Organizations, Outreach, Boards, Memberships:

Editorial Board, “Materiomics,” 2014-
Editorial Board, “Progress in Physics,” 2009-
Editorial Advisory Board, “Recent Patents on Nanotechnology,” 2007-2015
Editorial Board, “Journal of Materials Science & Surface Engineering (JMSSE),” 2013-2015
Editorial Board, “Journal of Surface Engineered Materials and Advanced Technology,” 2012-2015
Regional Editor, “Current Bionanotechnology,” 2013-2014
Proposal Review Committee for the Center of Nanophase Materials Science of the Oak Ridge National Laboratory, 2007-now
Wuxi New District International Advisory & Consultative Committee, 2009-2010
Organizing Committee for Establishing the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, Nanjing University, 2009-2010
Co-Founder, NanoLab, Inc., 2000, Commercialization of Carbon Nanotubes
Co-Founder, Solasta, Inc., 2006, Commercialization of Highly Efficient SolarCells
Co-Founder, GMZ Energy, Inc., 2006, Commercialization of High ZT Thermoelectric Materials
Board of Directors, GMZ Energy China, 2011-2015
Co-Founder, APower, Inc., 2015, Commercialization of Thermoelectric Technologies